Morningstar year in review 2019

--  |   23/12/2019 Text size  Decrease  Increase   |  
email_fwd
<p><strong>Glenn Freeman</strong>: We come to the end of another year. And as always, there's been a number of highs and lows for investors. We've taken this opportunity to speak to a number of our analysts about what's really stood out for them, what&rsquo;s moved the dial in 2019 and looking forward into 2020 across financial services, energy markets, infrastructure, and some of the other sectors that really move our markets here in Australia.</p> <p><strong>Nathan Zaia</strong>: So, I think 2019 is a year that most of the banks will want to forget, I mean, the sector was struggling with low credit growth and pressure on margins. But then just the magnitude of the customer remediation costs really surprised us and later in the year, the regulator scrutiny and actions they've taken against the banks could lead to massive penalties. So, I think it's been quite a tough period for the banks.</p> <p><strong>Gareth James</strong>: So, I think the interesting trend we saw in 2019 was the impact of interest rate cuts on company valuations and particularly on technology stocks where we've seen strong trends continue throughout the year. We've seen companies like WiseTech Global and Xero increase their share prices and reach pretty surprising valuations.</p> <p><strong>Brian Han</strong>: So, in the telecom sector, I think the most &ndash; the thing that stood out the most is how determined the ACCC was in trying to prevent this merger between TPG Telecom and Vodafone Australia. It is saying essentially that if we prevent this merger, TPG will resurrect its ambition to enter the Australian mobile network space, which of course TPG itself has publicly said that we are not going to because privately, I think it knows that it doesn't have the financial resources. It is actually hampering Vodafone in the Australia mobile space and TPG in the Australian broadband space, which is ironic when you consider what the mandate of the ACCC is.</p> <p><strong>Mathew Hodge</strong>: It was all about the tailings dam failure in Brazil, wiped out 6% or 7% of iron ore. Iron ore price went from around 60 bucks to I think it peaked over 120 and still around kind of 90 bucks now. That was really the story of 2019. You had a supply shock. You also had China on the demand side. Steel production in the first half of 2019 in China was 10%, massive demand for iron ore. That was unexpected. 2020, I think, we're going to see that unwind.</p> <p><strong>Peter Bull</strong>: We came into the year with some large positions in some areas that were a bit nervous with the trade war talk coming on. Semiconductors was one; luxury items, consumer discretionary is another. And it turned out, 2019, they were some of our best positions. I think the other big story in 2019 for us was markets are up 20%, 30% again, and for us, I think that's probably typical in such a low interest rate environment. So, it's kind of like the whole world has gone with bond math where you've got low interest rates and a 1% move means like 100% move in your capital investment. So, if the new normal is sort of low returns or has been the low returns to be expected going forward for risky assets, because the price is so high, that might be true in a long-term sense, but meanwhile, year-to-year, I mean, we should expect 20% one way or the other. So, nobody should be too surprised by that.</p> <p><strong>Lex Hall</strong>: I think the biggest story of the year was probably the thumping election win by the coalition because the pundits said that they were going to lose and it was dubbed the miracle election because they ended up winning, they ended up defeating labor. It's the first time since 2001 that a federal government in Australia has won a third consecutive term and it of course removed all that uncertainty about franking credits, which is so important to our investors and it removed uncertainty about changes to negative gearing and capital gains, which obviously, investors were worried about. Also, it increased industrial relations regulation and a boost of the stock market, in particular banking stocks, which rose between 6% to 8%.</p> <p><strong>Emma Rapaport</strong>: Yeah, I think, as one of the younger members of the team this year, with interest rates being as low as they are, it really struck me how a lot of my friends were talking about cash rates, were talking about the rates that they were getting from their banks, and really thinking about how else they could use their money to get better returns, you know, should they start investing and what should they start investing in? For me, it really spurred a conversation around getting started in the market. So, for me, that was a really interesting development from the year and something that was really interesting to write about.</p> <p><strong>Mark Taylor</strong>: I think the big thing in the oil and gas sector was the cost reductions, unit operating costs, particularly for companies like Santos, went surprisingly low. Company is doing a fantastic job of stripping costs out, doing things more efficiently, driving cash flows higher. And the other thing of course, in 2019, which is leading into 2020 as well, is the front-end engineering and design that was being undertaken on a number of major project expansions. Final investment decisions for these projects will be taken in 2020. So, that's the thing to look for in 2020, something that could be a catalyst for share price appreciation of a number of stocks.</p> <p><strong>Adam Fleck</strong>: One of the surprising things about 2019 has been the rapid fall in interest rates and of course, that's had a very positive impact on a lot of our Australian coverage, perhaps most notably in the highly leveraged transportation infrastructure sector. I cover Auckland Airport and Sydney Airport. And both companies have seen their shares, their security prices rally sharply throughout the year. So, in our opinion, the shares are simply not pricing in the risk that we see going forward for continued passenger slowdowns, particularly if there's an economic slowdown, even in places like China, which is an important source of traffic for these reports and of course, very long term, if interest rates start to rise again. So, as investors and analysts, we will be recommending waiting on the sidelines for the two airport securities in our market until there's a margin of safety that's more appropriate.</p> <p><strong>Alexander Prineas</strong>: So, we saw declining interest rates generally driving property stocks upwards, but I think there were some important distinctions to draw. So, differently, office and industrial exposed stocks such as Dexus performed well, whereas retail stocks like any bar Unibail-Rodamco-Westfield, Scentre Group or Vicinity Centres, the share prices were weaker there. So, I think what that shows is that you can't just rely on interest rates pushing the performance for property stocks.</p> <p><strong>Grant Slade</strong>: Big in 2019 was the contraction that we saw in the Aussie housing starts. So, after peaking in mid-2018, we saw Aussie resi construction contract around 15% in fiscal '19. That said, investors did anticipate that contraction activity fairly well. It would go sort of back to late 2018. Broadly speaking across Aussie housing-exposed names, that impact was well priced in.</p> <p><strong>Chanaka Gunasekera</strong>: Defensive, momentum and growth stocks have been outperforming &ndash; a Australia's been outperforming pure value strategies. And that's a reflection of very poor performance from global equity managers like Platinum, domestic equity value managers like Perpetual, for example. And the key question is, will that reverse in 2020. The other thing is buy now pay later. zip and Afterpay have done really well, fiscal 2019 as well. Now, there's a question mark, will that continue in fiscal 2020 given that the RBA is doing a major review of the payment system and will be looking at by now pay later. They will be looking at things like surcharging, which could impact particularly Afterpay. So, that's a real question mark moving forward in fiscal 2020.</p> <p><strong>Mark LaMonica</strong>: We heard a little bit about markets in 2019 and where we expect them to go next year. But I just want to take the opportunity to thank you from all of Morningstar for allowing us to join you on your investing journey. We've made some big strides this year to try to improve our services to you, including the launch of our new premium website. We're really excited about our acquisition of Cuffelinks and we're looking forward to another great year in 2020 of helping you reach your financial goals. So, for me and everyone at Morningstar, we hope you have a great holiday season and we're looking forward to seeing you next year.</p>

Video Archive...

Lazard's 3 top picks for the energy transition
29/11/2021  These companies are set to profit from the move to clean energy, says Lazard.
An uneven energy transition leaves room for coal and gas: COP26 debrief
24/11/2021  The results of the COP26 climate summit suggest coal demand is likely to persist for longer than expected.
What rising inflation means for Australian investors
17/11/2021  And how investors can protect their portfolios.
6 inflation-tough stocks for global investors
08/11/2021  Morningstar thinks these moaty companies will remain resilient in the face of inflation and ongoing supply chain challenges.
Risk/reward equation still looks good at Westpac
05/11/2021  Morningstar maintains fair value despite a fall in margins and slower progress on cost reductions.
These aren't the Bitcoin ETFs you're looking for
19/10/2021  These new US-listed exchange-traded funds will invest in bitcoin futures, not bitcoin itself.
ESG funds don't underperform - but nor do they outperform
15/10/2021  The ESG outperformance narrative is flawed, new research shows.
Building investment portfolios in a low interest rate environment
06/10/2021  Investors may need to hold more growth assets over the coming years, says Morningstar's Jody Fitzgerald.
Covid impacts still being felt in real estate and tech: Reporting season roundup
01/10/2021  And how G8 Education and Link Administration are positioned for long-term success.
Look to Credit Corp for a leading indicator of economic health: Reporting season roundup
30/09/2021  What Reporting Season August 2021 told investors about the health of the financials sector.
Cause for optimism at a2 Milk and Invocare: Reporting season roundup
28/09/2021  a2 milk is an opportunity to be greedy when others are fearful.
Post-covid normalisation is underway in healthcare: Reporting season roundup
23/09/2021  Covid's winners and losers are returning to their prior trajectories. 
One of the most underappreciated dangers of investing
21/09/2021  Sequence-of-returns risk matters for both retirees and savers. Here's why. 
REITs recover pandemic losses: Reporting season roundup
20/09/2021  Analysts expect the sector to recover to pre-Covid trading levels once borders reopen.
Australian banks face margin pressure amid low rates: Reporting season roundup
15/09/2021  Rising customer deposits and access to cheap funding helped Australia's banks stave off net interest margin pressure, but analysts see warning signs.
Greenwashing explained
14/09/2021  Morningstar's Hortense Bioy on how to spot greenwashing and how to avoid it.
Earnings down as private money circles infrastructure: Reporting season roundup
13/09/2021  Utilities and infrastructure names battle the impact of covid as private equity and pension funds circle. 
Frenzy of mergers in energy: Reporting season roundup
10/09/2021  Hydrocarbons poised for a comeback.
TPG tipped to recover as mobile competition eases: Reporting season roundup
09/09/2021  Providers have lifted prices after years of a debilitating chase for subscribers at all costs , says Morningstar's Brian Han.
Short-sellers bet against ARK Innovation ETF
08/09/2021  What shorting ETFs means for long-term investors.
Surging lumber prices were no match for Brambles: Reporting season roundup
07/09/2021  Morningstar senior analyst Grant Slade says Brambles secular growth trend is intact despite nearterm headwinds. He discusses results from the building and construction materials sector.
Miners soar thanks to iron ore: Reporting season roundup
03/09/2021  Miners bask in the glow of iron ore prices while bargains remain in coal.
BHP-Woodside merger is mutually beneficial
23/08/2021  Post-merger Woodside would be well positioned to deliver on the value we've seen for a long time, say Morningstar analysts.
Investors are getting serious about sustainability
16/08/2021  But the sector lacks uniformity, says Morningstar's Christopher Franz. 
Long term outlook for AGL is positive
11/08/2021  Higher wholesale electricity prices bode well for AGL, according to Morningstar senior equities analyst Adrian Atkins.
How you can hedge your portfolio against inflation
11/08/2021  Morningstar FundInvestor editor Russ Kinnel describes some direct and indirect hedges for inflation protection.
The iron ore party can't last: Morningstar
10/08/2021  Copper and iron ore have benefited materially from China’s stimulus and the developed world recovery. But Morningstar analyst Mat Hodge see these benefit as transitory.
What the Afterpay acquisition means for investors: Morningstar Minute
05/08/2021  We believe the transaction has a high chance of succeeding.
Cannabis' federal legal status is not a total buzzkill
03/08/2021  The industry still has significant growth potential.
Stock of the week: Toyota
03/08/2021  Is one of the biggest sponsors of the Olympics positioned for an all-electric future?
2 listed microcap names to consider
23/07/2021  Morningstar's Lex Hall talks micro-cap stock picks with Carlos Gil, chief investment officer at Microequities Asset Management.
Big returns, big risks: Making money with microcaps
22/07/2021  Mornngstar's Lex Hall catches up with Carlos Gil, chief investment officer at Microequities Asset Management.
3 small-caps with Dawn Kanelleas
21/07/2021  The head of Australian small and mid-cap stocks at First Sentier Investors has her eye on ARB, Breville and IDP Education.
Forecast 2021–2022: A correction could be around the corner
20/07/2021  The strong performances of global stock markets in 2020–21 are unlikely to be repeated in the coming year says Morningstar's Peter Warnes.
'Overvalued' warnings grow as ASX 200 hits new high
12/07/2021  Morningstar equity analysts warn that equities remain overvalued despite Australia's strong economic recovery.
What to know about private equity
08/07/2021  Private equity is an exciting area for investors, with lots of hotly-tipped stocks. But there are risks to be aware of, says Pitchbook analyst Dylan Cox.
Lazard's 3 top picks for the global covid recovery
08/07/2021  Warryn Robertson is looking at French infrastructure, retail pharmacy and tax services.
Aussie banks $34bn surplus points to more shareholder dividends, buybacks
06/07/2021  Australia's largest banks have excess capital because they cut dividends, were more conservative on lending, divested assets and raised equity last year. Morningstar's Nathan Zaia thinks most of it should be returned to shareholders.
Weighing up the PEXA IPO
02/07/2021  PEXA burst onto the ASX this week in the biggest float since 2019. Morningstar's Gareth James gives his take on the company's future growth prospects.
Can the iron ore price keep rising?
30/06/2021  Iron ore prices have  been on a tear, boosting the profits of Australia's top miners.  How did we get here and is the only way up? Lex Hall sits down with Morningstar's Mat Hodge.
2 new stocks to watch
28/06/2021  Morningstar has recently initiated coverage of a food delivery app and a consumer finance product. 
'Strongest earnings season I've ever seen'
24/06/2021  Meeting the deluge of demand is the biggest task for US companies, says Bell Asset Management's Ned Bell.
Biotech beyond covid
22/06/2021  Are there still opportunities in the biotech sector now the covid-19 vaccine roll out is underway? We ask International Biotechnology Trust manager Ailsa Craig
Alibaba is still deeply undervalued
21/06/2021  Morningstar's director of Asia equity research is confident the e-commerce giant will bounce back.
Weighing up the Endeavour IPO
18/06/2021  A wide moat and attractive dividend potential are among the key takeaways of Woolworth's decision to demerge from the liquor and hospitality group.
'Then we got hit with the equivalent of a war'
15/06/2021  Lazard Asset Management's Warryn Robertson explains how companies in the Global Equity Franchise fund have adjusted to covid, and assesses the threat of rising inflation.
Understanding Magellan's active ETF strategy
11/06/2021  Magellan's Craig Wright tells Emma Rapaport why it is leading the charge in the active ETF arena and how its global equity product works.
3 off-the-radar small caps
10/06/2021  Callum Burns of ICE Investors explains his conviction in pharmaceutical distributor Ebos, PSC Insurance Group, and elite sports analytics provider Catapult.
Small cap gems and how to find them
09/06/2021  Callum Burns explains how ICE Investors identifies companies with original products and sticky customer bases.
Stock of the Week: Salesforce.com
08/06/2021  They’re building an empire.
3 oil stocks we still like
07/06/2021  A year ago the oil price went negative. How have oil giants handled the past 12 months and what's the outlook from here? Morningstar analyst Allen Good explains.
Considering crypto? Here's what to think about
04/06/2021  As the investment world goes crazy for crypto, Morningstar Investment Management's Dan Kemp explains what to consider before putting it in your portfolio
Why we like Wizz Air
03/06/2021  The airline sector is set to recover as international travel resumes. Morningstar analysts think Wizz Air offer the best opportunity among low-cost carriers.
3 global infrastructure picks
28/05/2021  4D Infrastructure's Sarah Shaw outlines the investment case for Spanish multinationals Cellnex, and Iberdrola, and the potential of Mexican airports.
Are crypto ETFs coming?
28/05/2021  The SEC continues to sort out its regulatory concerns.
Stock of the Week: Apple
27/05/2021  We’re raising our fair value as sales hit new highs—but investors need to put it in perspective, says Andrew Willis.
Opportunities in global infrastructure
25/05/2021  Covid-19 has enhanced rather than impeded the future for global infrastructure, says Sarah Shaw of 4D Infrastructure.
Tribeca's eye for Domain
24/05/2021  Tribeca's Jun Bei Liu also explains why she sees opportunity in sleep apnea specialist ResMed as well as Treasury Wine Estates.
Stocks for emerging markets
19/05/2021  American Century Investment's Patricia Ribeiro sees growth in Chinese battery technology, biologics, and building materials in Latin America.
2 stocks for the rise of the robots
18/05/2021  Robotics is a fast-growing area of tech, creating opportunities in medical, logistics and life sciences sectors and much more.
Square: Stock of the week
18/05/2021  Square's Bitcoin purchase is more marketing than operations
Tesla: Stock of the week
10/05/2021  If Elon Musk ends up delivering, we might need to raise our fair value to US$1500 a share.
Why Tribeca's so upbeat on stocks
07/05/2021  Banks and resources are poised to deliver dividends, and Treasury Wine Estates and BNPL are worth a look, says Jun Bei Liu of Tribeca's Alpha Plus long/short fund.
Looking for value in emerging markets
05/05/2021  Digital banking, ecommerce and 5G are among the key trends set for rapid growth, says Patricia Ribeiro of American Century Investments.
Cash slashed, Aussie equities up: Why Morningstar updates Model ETF portfolios
04/05/2021  Analysts have made changes to the fixed interest, property, cash and equity allocations of Morningstar's Model ETF Portfolios to take advantage of the current market environment. They've also refreshed some of the funds in the portfolio.
Investing basics: Explaining the disconnect between the stock market and the economy
30/04/2021  The stock market and the economy are not the same. Here's why.
Why deforestation matters for investors
23/04/2021  EARTH DAY 2021: Why should investors care about deforestation and how can it can be taken into account within an investment portfolio? 
The silent killer: How to prepare your portfolio for inflation
21/04/2021  Do investors need to worry about inflation, and how do you prep your portfolio to protect you from it? Morningstar Investment Management's Dan Kemp explains.
ESG investing is about more than feeling good: Morningstar equity research
20/04/2021  Values-based investing is ultimately up to the investor.
2 US wide-moat stocks to buy on a dip
16/04/2021  Amazon.com and ServiceNow are looking increasingly attractive.
Fidelity's Kate Howitt names her 3 top stocks for 2021
15/04/2021  Investment tips from Australian equities fund manager Kate Howitt.
Back to basics: What is income investing?
14/04/2021  What is income investing, why is it important and which investors should focus on it? Morningstar Investment Management's Dan Kemp has the answers.
Hunting for pockets of value in an overheated market: Morningstar
13/04/2021  Morningstar equity strategist Gareth James discusses the great value rotation, why he believes the Australian share market is overvalued and where opportunities still lie for hungry investors.
Vaccine rollout drives energy's rise
12/04/2021  But the sector's current tailwinds are likely unsustainable, so investors should prioritise high-quality businesses with stable balance sheets, says Morningstar's Dave Meats.
Finding value with Kate Howitt
08/04/2021  Kate Howitt oversees Fidelity’s Australian Opportunities fund. She discusses her investing approach, the outlook and where she sees value.
Investing for millennials
07/04/2021  Goldman Sachs's Laura Destribats talks about the millennial investment trend, and why tech and experiences are so important to this generation.
What if I want to buy Bitcoin?
06/04/2021  Remember that the returns on speculative assets like Bitcoin are high risk
EGG, SGF, ZBRA: Foraging for the unloved gems
01/04/2021  Steve Johnson explains why Forager Funds Management has bought and held Enero, SG Fleet and Zebra Technologies and why they're poised for further growth.
Why the 'covid spending economy' will flourish
30/03/2021  Forager's Steve Johnson explains why he's bullish on consumer spending, enterprise software companies, and why he has cashed in on big names like Uber.
Proteomics set for growth, says Kardinia
29/03/2021  Kristiaan Rehder explains why the West Australian biotech is among the top performers in the Bennelong Kardinia Capital Absolute Return Fund.
Should you be worried about inflation?
26/03/2021  And how to make inflation "personal."
Crypto what?
25/03/2021  The how, what, and why of cryptocurrency.
The long and short of an absolute return fund
24/03/2021  An absolute return fund aims to seek returns in all weather. Kristiaan Rehder from Bennelong Kardinia Capital explains how.
3 dividend-paying real estate stocks for your watchlist
23/03/2021  Diversified portfolios, strong balance sheets and healthy payouts. Grant Berry singles out three big contributors to the SG Hiscock Property Income Fund.
AREITs in the time of covid
22/03/2021  SG Hiscock's Grant Berry explains how real estate was affected by the pandemic, how property stocks coped, and the chase for income in an evolving retail landscape.
Have we reached peak video gaming?
19/03/2021  Video gaming has soared under lockdown, can this sector keep growing post-covid? Morningstar analyst Neil Macker takes a look.
Myer: five stars and poised for the rebound
18/03/2021  The retail giant's strong balance sheet will help it navigate the shift to online shopping and capitalise on the return to normal life, says Morningstar's Johannes Faul.
Deliveroo IPO: what you need to know
10/03/2021  Ahead of Deliveroo's IPO, Morningstar analyst Ioannis Pontikis looks at the outlook for the business, its valuation and concerns about gig workers.
2 stocks for the e-learning boom
08/03/2021  E-learning has become the norm for young students and university-goers across the world. Morningstar analyst Michael Field looks at whether the trend is here to stay. 
February Reporting Season Wrap Up with Peter Warnes: Webinar
04/03/2021  Special guest Peter Warnes, our head of equities research, joins the Morningstar Foundations of Investing Webinar series to give his unique take on February Reporting Season and answer subscriber questions.
One year after the market crash, through the ETF lens
03/03/2021  The growth and adoption of exchange-traded funds has only accelerated as a result of the latest market crisis.
Brighter picture for big four banks
01/03/2021  Morningstar's Nathan Zaia on the outlook for the banks, dividend payouts and the move by the Bank of Queensland to acquire ME Bank.
One year on: lessons learned from the 2020 bear market
25/02/2021  The biggest takeaway from that period is not to panic when the market tumbles.
What if...I want to buy a gold ETF?
23/02/2021  From ETFs backed by bullion to miners with more upside potential - here's how to get yourself some gold.
'Full return to normal in 2021'
23/02/2021  If the US is to stage a recovery by mid-year, it will need the consumer services sector to fire, says Morningstar's head of economic research Preston Caldwell.
Google, Facebook versus Aussie news stocks
19/02/2021  Morningstar's Brian Han weighs up News Corp's deal with Google and examines the effect of Facebook's decision to block content from Australian media outlets.
Global real estate as a store of value
18/02/2021  Quay Global Investors' Chris Bedingfield explains how self-storage, data centres and industrial property can offer diversification and growth.
Spotting the 'covid winners'
16/02/2021  Uniti Group and Nextdc are among the companies that SG Hiscock's Hamish Tadgell says have flourished during the pandemic.
The transition from hope to growth
15/02/2021  Hamish Tadgell of SG Hiscock explains the portfolio changes he’s made in a bid to capitalise on the shift.
The future of the US economy
10/02/2021  Which pandemic-related trends have already passed, and which ones might be around the corner?