Morningstar year in review 2019

--  |   23/12/2019 Text size  Decrease  Increase   |  
email_fwd
<p><strong>Glenn Freeman</strong>: We come to the end of another year. And as always, there's been a number of highs and lows for investors. We've taken this opportunity to speak to a number of our analysts about what's really stood out for them, what&rsquo;s moved the dial in 2019 and looking forward into 2020 across financial services, energy markets, infrastructure, and some of the other sectors that really move our markets here in Australia.</p> <p><strong>Nathan Zaia</strong>: So, I think 2019 is a year that most of the banks will want to forget, I mean, the sector was struggling with low credit growth and pressure on margins. But then just the magnitude of the customer remediation costs really surprised us and later in the year, the regulator scrutiny and actions they've taken against the banks could lead to massive penalties. So, I think it's been quite a tough period for the banks.</p> <p><strong>Gareth James</strong>: So, I think the interesting trend we saw in 2019 was the impact of interest rate cuts on company valuations and particularly on technology stocks where we've seen strong trends continue throughout the year. We've seen companies like WiseTech Global and Xero increase their share prices and reach pretty surprising valuations.</p> <p><strong>Brian Han</strong>: So, in the telecom sector, I think the most &ndash; the thing that stood out the most is how determined the ACCC was in trying to prevent this merger between TPG Telecom and Vodafone Australia. It is saying essentially that if we prevent this merger, TPG will resurrect its ambition to enter the Australian mobile network space, which of course TPG itself has publicly said that we are not going to because privately, I think it knows that it doesn't have the financial resources. It is actually hampering Vodafone in the Australia mobile space and TPG in the Australian broadband space, which is ironic when you consider what the mandate of the ACCC is.</p> <p><strong>Mathew Hodge</strong>: It was all about the tailings dam failure in Brazil, wiped out 6% or 7% of iron ore. Iron ore price went from around 60 bucks to I think it peaked over 120 and still around kind of 90 bucks now. That was really the story of 2019. You had a supply shock. You also had China on the demand side. Steel production in the first half of 2019 in China was 10%, massive demand for iron ore. That was unexpected. 2020, I think, we're going to see that unwind.</p> <p><strong>Peter Bull</strong>: We came into the year with some large positions in some areas that were a bit nervous with the trade war talk coming on. Semiconductors was one; luxury items, consumer discretionary is another. And it turned out, 2019, they were some of our best positions. I think the other big story in 2019 for us was markets are up 20%, 30% again, and for us, I think that's probably typical in such a low interest rate environment. So, it's kind of like the whole world has gone with bond math where you've got low interest rates and a 1% move means like 100% move in your capital investment. So, if the new normal is sort of low returns or has been the low returns to be expected going forward for risky assets, because the price is so high, that might be true in a long-term sense, but meanwhile, year-to-year, I mean, we should expect 20% one way or the other. So, nobody should be too surprised by that.</p> <p><strong>Lex Hall</strong>: I think the biggest story of the year was probably the thumping election win by the coalition because the pundits said that they were going to lose and it was dubbed the miracle election because they ended up winning, they ended up defeating labor. It's the first time since 2001 that a federal government in Australia has won a third consecutive term and it of course removed all that uncertainty about franking credits, which is so important to our investors and it removed uncertainty about changes to negative gearing and capital gains, which obviously, investors were worried about. Also, it increased industrial relations regulation and a boost of the stock market, in particular banking stocks, which rose between 6% to 8%.</p> <p><strong>Emma Rapaport</strong>: Yeah, I think, as one of the younger members of the team this year, with interest rates being as low as they are, it really struck me how a lot of my friends were talking about cash rates, were talking about the rates that they were getting from their banks, and really thinking about how else they could use their money to get better returns, you know, should they start investing and what should they start investing in? For me, it really spurred a conversation around getting started in the market. So, for me, that was a really interesting development from the year and something that was really interesting to write about.</p> <p><strong>Mark Taylor</strong>: I think the big thing in the oil and gas sector was the cost reductions, unit operating costs, particularly for companies like Santos, went surprisingly low. Company is doing a fantastic job of stripping costs out, doing things more efficiently, driving cash flows higher. And the other thing of course, in 2019, which is leading into 2020 as well, is the front-end engineering and design that was being undertaken on a number of major project expansions. Final investment decisions for these projects will be taken in 2020. So, that's the thing to look for in 2020, something that could be a catalyst for share price appreciation of a number of stocks.</p> <p><strong>Adam Fleck</strong>: One of the surprising things about 2019 has been the rapid fall in interest rates and of course, that's had a very positive impact on a lot of our Australian coverage, perhaps most notably in the highly leveraged transportation infrastructure sector. I cover Auckland Airport and Sydney Airport. And both companies have seen their shares, their security prices rally sharply throughout the year. So, in our opinion, the shares are simply not pricing in the risk that we see going forward for continued passenger slowdowns, particularly if there's an economic slowdown, even in places like China, which is an important source of traffic for these reports and of course, very long term, if interest rates start to rise again. So, as investors and analysts, we will be recommending waiting on the sidelines for the two airport securities in our market until there's a margin of safety that's more appropriate.</p> <p><strong>Alexander Prineas</strong>: So, we saw declining interest rates generally driving property stocks upwards, but I think there were some important distinctions to draw. So, differently, office and industrial exposed stocks such as Dexus performed well, whereas retail stocks like any bar Unibail-Rodamco-Westfield, Scentre Group or Vicinity Centres, the share prices were weaker there. So, I think what that shows is that you can't just rely on interest rates pushing the performance for property stocks.</p> <p><strong>Grant Slade</strong>: Big in 2019 was the contraction that we saw in the Aussie housing starts. So, after peaking in mid-2018, we saw Aussie resi construction contract around 15% in fiscal '19. That said, investors did anticipate that contraction activity fairly well. It would go sort of back to late 2018. Broadly speaking across Aussie housing-exposed names, that impact was well priced in.</p> <p><strong>Chanaka Gunasekera</strong>: Defensive, momentum and growth stocks have been outperforming &ndash; a Australia's been outperforming pure value strategies. And that's a reflection of very poor performance from global equity managers like Platinum, domestic equity value managers like Perpetual, for example. And the key question is, will that reverse in 2020. The other thing is buy now pay later. zip and Afterpay have done really well, fiscal 2019 as well. Now, there's a question mark, will that continue in fiscal 2020 given that the RBA is doing a major review of the payment system and will be looking at by now pay later. They will be looking at things like surcharging, which could impact particularly Afterpay. So, that's a real question mark moving forward in fiscal 2020.</p> <p><strong>Mark LaMonica</strong>: We heard a little bit about markets in 2019 and where we expect them to go next year. But I just want to take the opportunity to thank you from all of Morningstar for allowing us to join you on your investing journey. We've made some big strides this year to try to improve our services to you, including the launch of our new premium website. We're really excited about our acquisition of Cuffelinks and we're looking forward to another great year in 2020 of helping you reach your financial goals. So, for me and everyone at Morningstar, we hope you have a great holiday season and we're looking forward to seeing you next year.</p>

Video Archive...

2 stocks for the E-learning boom
08/03/2021  E-learning has become the norm for young students and university-goers across the world. Morningstar analyst Michael Field looks at whether the trend is here to stay 
February Reporting Season Wrap Up with Peter Warnes: Webinar
04/03/2021  Special guest Peter Warnes, our head of equities research, joins the Morningstar Foundations of Investing Webinar series to give his unique take on February Reporting Season and answer subscriber questions.
One year after the market crash, through the ETF lens
03/03/2021  The growth and adoption of exchange-traded funds has only accelerated as a result of the latest market crisis.
Brighter picture for big four banks
01/03/2021  Morningstar's Nathan Zaia on the outlook for the banks, dividend payouts and the move by the Bank of Queensland to acquire ME Bank.
One year on: lessons learned from the 2020 bear market
25/02/2021  The biggest takeaway from that period is not to panic when the market tumbles.
What if...I want to buy a gold ETF?
23/02/2021  From ETFs backed by bullion to miners with more upside potential - here's how to get yourself some gold.
'Full return to normal in 2021'
23/02/2021  If the US is to stage a recovery by mid-year, it will need the consumer services sector to fire, says Morningstar's head of economic research Preston Caldwell.
Google, Facebook versus Aussie news stocks
19/02/2021  Morningstar's Brian Han weighs up News Corp's deal with Google and examines the effect of Facebook's decision to block content from Australian media outlets.
Global real estate as a store of value
18/02/2021  Quay Global Investors' Chris Bedingfield explains how self-storage, data centres and industrial property can offer diversification and growth.
Spotting the 'covid winners'
16/02/2021  Uniti Group and Nextdc are among the companies that SG Hiscock's Hamish Tadgell says have flourished during the pandemic.
The transition from hope to growth
15/02/2021  Hamish Tadgell of SG Hiscock explains the portfolio changes he’s made in a bid to capitalise on the shift.
The future of the US economy
10/02/2021  Which pandemic-related trends have already passed, and which ones might be around the corner?
GameStop frenzy is history repeating
05/02/2021  The battle between the Reddit army and hedge funds is nothing new—the question is will regulators be willing to step in, says Morningstar's John Rekenthaler.
Who are the fast fashion winners?
03/02/2021  Competition is fierce for fast fashion retailers such as Asos, H&M, Zalando and Inditex. Morningstar analyst Jelena Sokolova takes a look at the sector.
Can your portfolio withstand volatile times?
01/02/2021  Volatility can be around any corner, says Morningstar director of personal finance Christine Benz.
How much equity exposure is too much in retirement?
28/01/2021  Retirees require stocks' growth potential, but they need a cash and bond buffer, too.
Key trends for China investors
27/01/2021  Rebecca Jiang, manager of the JPMorgan China Growth & Income Trust, looks at why Chinese stocks soared in 2020 and whether the trend can continue.
Redpoint's 3 top picks in industrials
25/01/2021  Redpoint's chief executive and portfolio manager Max Cappetta tells Lex Hall why he's got his eye on JB Hi-Fi, Goodman and Reliance Worldwide in 2021.
Looking for growth and income among industrials
21/01/2021  Redpoint CEO and portfolio manager Max Cappetta looks at the dividend potential of large-cap names, the resilience of Qantas, and the local tech landscape.
What we expect from oil prices
19/01/2021  Stocks still look cheap across all subsectors, especially oilfield services and refining, says Morningstar analyst Dave Meats.
What’s app-ening: investing from your phone
19/01/2021  What are the rewards and risks of using this technology?
A Democrat clean sweep and corporate America
15/01/2021  Morningstar's head of policy research Aron Szapiro explains what sort of changes a Biden government will make and how they will affect company valuations.
3 stocks for climate transition
14/01/2021  Freight-rail, building temperature efficiency, and carmaking are among the sectors Aviva Investors' Jaime Ramos Martin has his eye on.
The outlook for dividends
13/01/2021   Dividend investors had a hard time in 2020, but Morningstar analyst Dan Lefkovitz think the outlook is brighter for the year ahead.
3 themes for fund investors in 2021
11/01/2021  Morningstar Investment Management's Dan Kemp reveals the three investment themes on his mind for the year ahead.
What next for oil and gas companies?
06/01/2021  Morningstar equity analyst Allen Good looks at the prospects for oil and gas giants in the year ahead. 
China outlook 2021
05/01/2021  China had a strong year after a rocky start, but can it continue—and what does a US President Biden mean for the region? Morningstar analyst Lorraine Tan explains.
Tech, travel and trends for 2021
04/01/2021  Morningstar equity director Alex Morozov considers the outlook for tech, travel and beyond for the year ahead.
Money and investment lessons of 2020
01/01/2021  How to plan for things you can't plan.
Morningstar Year in Review 2020
25/12/2020  2020: we look back at the highs and lows of an unprecedented year in financial markets and explore the themes shaping 2021.
Are music streaming companies a big hit with investors?
22/12/2020  Music streaming companies have seen stellar growth in user numbers. We ask Morningstar equity analyst Neil Macker if the trend can continue.
What Tesla's inclusion in the S&P 500 means for investors
21/12/2020  While it stands as the largest addition in the index's history, this likely won't impact everyday investors all that much. 
Peter Warnes and the 2021 Forecast
18/12/2020  Will there be opportunities to deploy cash in the new year? Will there be a reprieve from covid? And what will the incoming Biden administration mean for markets?
Investing in the climate transition
18/12/2020  Companies that specialise in solar, building efficiency and renewables underpin Aviva Investors' Climate Transition Global Equity Fund, says Jaime Ramos Martin.
Why does liquidity matter?
16/12/2020  Why does liquidity matter to investors, and how can it affect your returns? Morningstar equities director Tom Whitelaw explains.
Introducing the Morningstar Capital Allocation Rating
14/12/2020  Learn what we look for when rating a company.
Incorporating ESG into our equity research process
14/12/2020  Morningstar's new approach unpacks the environmental, social and governance risks that companies face.
Tagliaferro: yield ideas for your portfolio
10/12/2020  Industrial companies typically generate better cash flows and can offer a steady income stream, says the IML founder.
Anton Tagliaferro on value versus growth
09/12/2020  The lofty valuations of Tesla and Afterpay typify the effervescence and speculation in the market, says the IML founder.
Can car companies be ESG investments?
08/12/2020  Car makers may not be an obvious investment choice for ESG-conscious investors, but Morningstar analyst Tancrede Fulop says some of the largest companies score highly in some measures such as safety and human capital.
The US and China under president-elect Biden
07/12/2020  Janus Henderson's Matt Peron considers how the relationship between the US and China will evolve under a President Biden.
Investing basics: what is active and passive investing?
04/12/2020  What is active investing, and what is passive investing? We're at the whiteboard to explain the pros and cons of each 
Why we still like Treasury Wine
04/12/2020  Treasury Wine Estates remains an undervalued stock in spite of China's demand-destroying tariff on Australian wine. Morningstar director of equity research Adam Fleck explains why.
What is gold worth?
03/12/2020  And do any other assets currently compare?
Why now is the time for ESG investing
02/12/2020  We're at an inflection point in ESG investing, says Sustainalytics founder Michael Jantzi. Here's why. 
10 stocks retail investors bought in covid sell-off
01/12/2020  Beaten-down travel stocks and BNPL providers featured heavily, says nabtrade’s Gemma Dale.
How retail investors seized on covid sell-off
30/11/2020  Many people were waiting for the opportunity to buy shares at historic discounts, says nabtrade’s Gemma Dale.
AMP: difficulties now, but dividends later
27/11/2020  The 171-year-old wealth manager has had its scandals but there's merit to its turnaround strategy and the quality of its other assets, says Morningstar's Shaun Ler.
'Be careful using buy now pay later'
27/11/2020  BNPL products such as Zip Co help boost consumer spending but they come with risks and are overvalued, says Morningstar analyst Shaun Ler.
Hamish Douglass: Winners and losers in the covid era
26/11/2020  The Magellan co-founder argues the ecommerce acceleration is here to stay and ponders the effect it will have on other sectors such as travel and commercial real estate.
A 'wonderful hunting ground'
25/11/2020  Greg Dean of Cambridge Global Asset Management explains why the consumer services sector has yielded healthy returns.
Hamish Douglass and big tech
25/11/2020  Magellan's co-founder explains which tech behemoth the Magellan Global Fund no longer owns, why one was too tricky to value, and why regulation is no threat.
Hamish Douglass: 'We're lucky this pandemic hit when it did'
24/11/2020  Magellan's co-founder on why 2020 resembles 2000 and why covid-19 is a dry run for something that could be much worse without proper planning.
Should you beef up your exposure to meat processors?
23/11/2020  Their shares have gotten hammered this year. Are they opportunities or value traps?
What is the Morningstar ESG Commitment level?
20/11/2020  Our new rating highlights the degree to which a fund or asset manager considers environmental, social, and governance issues.
What's driving the flows into ESG funds
19/11/2020  Morningstar's Grant Kennaway explains why sustainable funds are increasingly popular and why they're performing well. 
Too much upside baked into Bunnings: Morningstar
17/11/2020  Morningstar director of equity research Johannes Faul looks at home improvement retailer Bunnings.
What is ESG?
16/11/2020  From climate change to workers' rights, ESG is a big part of the investing world. We're at the Morningstar whiteboard board to explain what it means and why it matters.
"I'm still cautious": Peter Warnes' best ideas for income investors
12/11/2020  We're not out of the woods yet, says our head of equity research, as he looks for safety in businesses we can't live without and shies away from the banks. 
Is it time to get exposure to China?
11/11/2020  Perhaps it is time to have exposure to this economic powerhouse and its 1.4 billion population, says Morningstar's Peter Warnes.
Tapping into the contactless spending boom
10/11/2020  What happens when you buy something when your bank card? Morningstar analyst Niklas Kammer explains which companies are benefiting from your transaction.
Can luxury stocks recover from covid?
09/11/2020  With travel bans and economic lockdowns, the luxury sector has been hit hard in 2020. But there are still opportunities, says Morningstar analyst Jelena Sokolova.
US election scenarios and what they mean for investors
05/11/2020  A discussion of taxes, stimulus, regulation, and the likely market reaction as results from the 2020 poll come in. 
Don't try to time elections
03/11/2020  Why you should resist the urge to make predictions when there's a disconnect between the economy and security prices.
3 names on the alternative protein shelf
02/11/2020  Etoro analyst Josh Gilbert shares his thoughts on Beyond Meat and two other companies making inroads into the plant-based meat sector.
Hamish Douglass: I'd be super surprised if Trump won
30/10/2020  The Magellan rainmaker explains why he doubts the Republican leader will prevail and why investors should brace for volatility—and ignore it. 
Gauging the appetite for alternative protein
29/10/2020  The market for plant-based meat is worth $14bn today and is expected to grow massively, says eToro's Josh Gilbert.
Browsing the opportunities aisle in retailing
28/10/2020  Morningstar equity analyst Johannes Faul explores the flipside to the surge in growth in online sales.
3 top Asian picks on Longlead's radar
22/10/2020  China and Hong Kong have been a happy hunting ground, says Longlead Capital Partners' co-founder Andrew West, who singles out tech, pharmaceuticals and power tools.
3 undervalued travel stocks we like
22/10/2020  These names stand to benefit from a resumption of leisure travel - and are all trading below our fair value estimates.
3 reasons to like bonds
20/10/2020  Morningstar's Mark Preskett looks at three reasons why bonds are an important tool in your investment portfolio.
The monopoly asset that could boost Link
19/10/2020  A bigger stake in the online conveyancer PEXA could be the key to increasing Link Administration's revenue, says Morningstar's Gareth James.
How Longlead Capital defied the covid plunge
16/10/2020  Longlead Capital Partners co-founder Andrew West reveals how his Asia-focused fund managed to make gains during the historic covid-19 sell-off.
Investing basics: why invest in bonds?
16/10/2020  The investment board is back with an explainer on why you might invest in bonds.
Retiring during a pandemic
13/10/2020  How to handle this decision—even when it is made for you.
3 top picks in sustainability and software
12/10/2020  Nick Griffin of Munro Partners reveals why and where he sees opportunities in renewable energy, diagnostics and software. 
Investing basics: what's your personal inflation rate?
09/10/2020  Take stock of your spending to determine if inflation is an issue for you.
Ant Group IPO: What you need to know
09/10/2020  Morningstar analyst Chelsey Tam explains why investors are excited about the flotation of Ant Group and why it's different from Alibaba.
Spotting the winners of tomorrow
06/10/2020  Companies that address the growing demand for decarbonisation will have a 20-year growth opportunity, says Nick Griffin of Munro Partners.
An interview with Whitehaven Coal chief Paul Flynn
30/09/2020  EXCLUSIVE EXTRACT: Morningstar's Mat Hodge and Lex Hall talk to the CEO of the independent producer and exporter about the company's fortunes and its future.
How to get rich slowly
30/09/2020  Slow and steady wins the financial race.
3 top picks in global healthcare
29/09/2020  American Century Investments' low-turnover strategy invests in companies developing vaccines, treatments for neuro-cognitive diseases and innovations in telemedicine.
Investing in the healthcare needs of the future
25/09/2020  By 2050, almost 20 per cent of the global population will be over 65 and demand for healthcare will climb, says Michael Li of American Century Investments.
Morningstar's Mat Hodge on Rio's fortunes
22/09/2020  The destruction of an indigenous cave shelter was unforgiveable but there are other reasons why the iron ore heavyweight is overvalued.
Cannabis: the world in 2030
21/09/2020  Morningstar equity analyst Kristoffer Inton on the outlook for the seven producers under coverage.
3 top picks for the EV revolution
18/09/2020  Morningstar's Seth Goldstein singles out three undervalued stocks that span the entire electric vehicle supply chain.
The 2020 election and your portfolio
18/09/2020  The bumps and bruises of election time may tempt you to shift your portfolio strategy.  
'The tech rally has gone too far'
17/09/2020  UK-based Premier Miton's Simon Evan-Cook says the tech rally of 2020 is reminiscent of the dotcom boom, but inflation could be a bigger threat.
Why EVs will be a common sight on the roads of the future
16/09/2020  By 2025, the cost of batteries and manufacturing will fall and EV functionality will improve, says Morningstar's Seth Goldstein.
Using personal data to better estimate retirement savings
11/09/2020  Estimating the length of your retirement with personalized information will help you save the correct amount.
2 China stocks we like
09/09/2020  Morningstar's Chelsey Tam reveals which stocks and sectors have shone—and which have underwhelmed.
How to be a better investor: episode 3
28/08/2020  Products, services, what is what in the world of finance—and how to look out for yourself
Where to invest for income
24/08/2020  A raft of companies have cut their dividends this year, leaving income investors concerned. But Morningstar's Dan Lefkovitz says there are still plenty of options out there.
DNR Capital's eye for gaming, building supplies and software
18/08/2020  DNR Capital's chief investment officer Jamie Nicol profiles some of the top ten holdings in his Australian Equities High Conviction fund. 
The trouble on Telstra's horizon
17/08/2020  Morningstar's Brian Han explains why he has trimmed his fair value estimate for Australia's dominant telco and the future of its dividend payout.
Finding bargains the market overlooks
14/08/2020  DNR Capital's Jamie Nicol reveals how his Australian Equities High Conviction fund finds quality businesses that will endure difficult conditions.
How to be a better investor: episode 2
13/08/2020  Put your money to work if you're looking for financial freedom.
How to be a better investor: episode 1
10/08/2020  Learn how to picture your goals so you can better reach them.
3 undervalued names in childcare
05/08/2020  Morningstar's Gareth James identifies three sector names trading at attractive discounts in an increasingly 'essential' sector.
Is the 60/40 portfolio dead?
05/08/2020  Reports of the strategy's demise are greatly exaggerated, says Morningstar's Christine Benz.